Elegiac

I just realized that this will be my first dogless Christmas.

It will be the first time that I’ll come home from an extended period away … and not have my dog waiting for me.

I had this vision of bringing friends over, and thought I’d have to remind them about the ferocious watchdog who’d turn putty as soon as they entered… but I don’t have to do that anymore.

I think I will have to spend a good long time cuddling Sophie. Bad enough to have spent the last two months missing her in brief stabs as I realize I don’t have her. Still worse to realize that I won’t be able to do so with Wiggy.

~ by jackelopette on December 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
